Skip to content

It was just going to be a simple weekend up in the bay…

by on February 8, 2010

… but we learned how good our God is, and how much he is working for our good.  (Read the whole story, it’s pretty good.)

Tuesday – Christina tells me of the possibility that we could go up to the Bay Area because of the way that her work schedule fell into place.  We knew that we weren’t going to be able to make it up in the foreseeable future, so we decided to take advantage of the situation and drive up.

Thursday – Christina gives me the green light to go ahead and start packing for the weekend, and we hit the road at about 2 pm.  I check my phone as we get on the road and we get a text message from my dad that one of my mom’s co-worker’s husband was in the market for a car, and that they were looking to buy THIS weekend and that they were looking to spend precisely what I had in mind for the sale of the Impreza.  It seemed a bit too good to be true, so we said, “sure, he can come and take a look at it.”  The rest of the trip up, we started plotting how we were going to get back to LA should the car be sold.  The “all else fails” plan was that we borrow my mom’s Lexus for the time being.

Friday – I began in earnest to research what it would take to buy a new car this weekend.  My plan was to finance half and to put half down, but I really didn’t have the resources to do that right now.  After some conversations with some very generous in-laws, I found out that between the sale of the Impreza and loans from family members, I would be able to do what I had intended.  I applied for the loan through my Credit Union, but I got a “requires further review” and wouldn’t hear back until Monday.  Too late.  I talked to my mom and she said that I shouldn’t have any problem getting this loan, so I moved on, undaunted.  I emailed around to the various dealerships for the replacement car and I got a few quotes, but the one that was the lowest was down in San Jose.  Sensing that I could do no more until Saturday, I went to sleep.

Saturday – I headed down to Cupertino on Saturday morning to clean out the Impreza and to take it on a test drive with Randall (Mom’s co-worker’s husband).  He was impressed with the car and cut me a check on the spot.  Easiest sale EVER.  I saved him car shopping all weekend, he saved me the headache of putting this thing up on Craigslist.  But now I was sans automobile.  I called up AAA to tell them that I no longer had a car but that I was planning on buying another one soon.  They had to put me on what’s called a “covered, no owner” policy, but that policy didn’t give me the coverage that I needed to drive a new car off the lot.  Not to worry, they told me.  All I had to do was call them up while the paperwork was being pushed through and add the new car to my policy and I would be all set.  Confident in my insurance AND finance situation, I pushed on.  I scheduled a test drive for 4:30 and ate a quick lunch and headed out to pick up the necessary forms to transfer the car to Randall once I got the title from the Credit Union.  I pulled up to a suspiciously vacant parking lot at AAA to find that they had closed at 2:00.  I looked at the clock.  2:30. D’OH.  I call home and ask my mom to look up if there are any DMV’s open right now.  Budget cutbacks.  All DMV’s closed on the weekends now.  Double D’OH.  I would have to get this form later and snail mail it to Randall (it’s on security paper, so I couldn’t download it).  When ti came time, the Poppyfolk and I loaded up and drove down to the dealership to test drive the new car.

After the test drive, the salesman told me that I could finance through Subaru’s Credit Union (backed by Chase Bank) and get a 2.9% APR, roughly half of the lowest rate that Star One was offering.  After some reluctance and fear of being “suckered in”, I agreed to the credit check and the financing through the dealership.  (I hadn’t checked my credit score in some time, and it turns out that it was well over 800.  Who knew?)  I asked the kind salesman (who incidentally, had lived in Vermont for 20 years or so) if he could lower the price any more than the quote that he gave me.  He dropped $200 off the quote and sold me the car basically at invoice, if not lower.  (I’m praising God already, but this is just the beginning).

As we’re waiting for financing to come through, I call up AAA to set up my insurance.  The phone system tells me that “our offices are closed.  You can file a claim 24/7.  If you want to file a claim, press 3.”  After a bit of wondering how I was going to drive the car away with no insurance, I took my mom’s advice and “faked” a claim by pressing 3 and told the lady there that I didn’t actually have a claim, that I just wanted to amend my policy.  Turns out that she was one of two people in the call center that were trained in how to do that.  She was very nice and funny and took care of everything for me.  She faxed the new policy over to the dealership and everything.

Financing went through, and the finance guy gave me roughly $800 off the maintenance package for making me wait so long.  I drove away in my BRAND NEW:

IMG_5372

2010 SUBARU FORESTER. Oh. AND. The finance guy gave me 3 copies of the form that I had missed picking up from AAA!!!!

(I know, I can’t believe it either)

The whole time this process was going on, I kept thinking to myself, it’s too good to be true.  The path kept unfolding before me, and all I had to do was faithfully and fearlessly take the next step, and God continually helped things to fall into place.  The cynic in me says that I just got lucky, but the child of God in me says that He’s trying to teach me something.  We have some pretty big decisions looming on the horizon in regard to careers and family.  Christina and I have been going back and forth about where we want to live and what we want to do after her residency is done, but I think that this experience has shown us that we should (and need to) follow God’s leading more than relying on our own plans and our own desires.

From → Uncategorized

4 Comments
  1. Tiffany Cheung permalink

    Nice! God is so good and Subuaru’s are great on the road! sorry I missed seeing it in person. And you guys, too of course! ^_~

  2. Queenie permalink

    PTL! That’s so awesome!

  3. Janelle permalink

    God is good all the time and He will walk you and Christina through the decisions that you are going to face and are facing : )

  4. Wow, very encouraging! Nice new ride too!

Leave a Reply

