Skip to content

out with the old, in with the older

by on January 2, 2010

Over the Christmas vacation, we had 15+ people wandering the hallways of our home and it was quite the experience.  One of the casualties of the overcrowding was my 50mm f/1.8 lens.  It got into a tangle with the hardwood floor and lost:

IMG_4367

I immediately got to the task of finding a replacement.  The first choice was obvious: get exactly the same lens as before.  I was tempted to upgrade at this point and get a wide angle lens (like somewhere between 18-28mm), but one look online showed me that the cost of such an upgrade was cost-prohibitive.  At the advice of my brother-in-law, I poked around on craigslist and looked for something in the same price range as a new 50mm prime.

I managed to find this lens not too far away.  I read through the posting and didn’t see a price on the lens, so I emailed the guy and asked him if he would accept offers.  I offered $100, the price of a new 50mm prime.  I looked at the posting again, and noticed that it was in the “free stuff” section.  I quickly fired off another email stating that I noticed that it was in the “free stuff” section and I would take it if it was available.  The response I got back was: “$100 is fair.  I will ship it to you free.”  Oh well.  I figure this lens is worth at least what I paid for it.

At any rate, it showed up today, and I’m pretty happy with it!

IMG_4320

Notice that the zoom is a push/pull system rather than a zoom ring.  That took a little getting used to.  All in all, I think this will be a serviceable replacement for my 50mm, as well as a pretty good standard lens for me to use (in lieu of the kit lens that came with the camera).  Now my lens collection is as follows:

18-55mm f/3.5-5.6
55-200mm f/4-5.6
50mm macro f/2.5
35-105mm f/3.5-4.5

Some sample shots:

IMG_4348

IMG_4350

We have discovered, though, that the smaller part of the broken 50mm acts as kind of a cheap fisheye lens.  Here’s what we got by playing around with it:

IMG_4230.JPG

IMG_4228.JPG

IMG_4224.JPG

IMG_4226.JPG

From → Uncategorized

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

