Skip to content
Tags

,

Accidental Tacos

by on March 22, 2009

Before PoppyMom and PoppyDad left for NorCal, we went out to Surfas Restaurant Supply and Gourmet Food where mom picked up some baking supplies:

When we were poking around in the store, we heard over the PA:

“Attention Surfas shoppers!  We’ll be having a sushi demonstration in our kitchen in the back!  Please join us!”

I thought to myself, “That might be fun, we should check that out.  We might even get some free sushi!”  The PA announcement continued:

“We’ll also be giving out free samples of pot stickers by the front entrance!”

I continued to think, “Forget the sushi, let’s get some pot stickers!”  The PA announcement continued:

“And the Kogi Barbeque truck will be in the parking lot from noon to 3!”

I continued yet again: “Kogi!”

We originally heard about this phenomenon from our friends the Noritakes, who made a late night run out to Alibi in Culver City to intercept a taco truck.  It’s a taco truck that makes stops all over the LA area and serves up Korean BBQ style tacos and burritos.

We waited outside Surfas for the truck to arrive and we noticed a small line forming.  We figured that the line was short enough and that we didn’t really need to wait in it, we’d just get in line when the truck showed up.  Turns out we should have gotten in line.  When the line got longer, I advised my parents to go snag a spot while I fed Emmett his lunch.

When the truck finally pulled up, the Surfas employees moved the line into the parking lot, in which my dad was about 20 people back.  About 30-40 minutes later, we made our order (which was, unbeknowst to me, a LOT more than we could eat).

That’s my dad on the far right.

The feast.  In addition to this, we had enough burritos for everyone for dinner, including Christina (who was on call at the time).  This is the view of the line when we rolled out of the parking lot:

I’m glad that I accidentally ran into this truck.  I don’t know that I’d ever find the time to go out of my way to chase down a taco truck.

From → Uncategorized

4 Comments
  1. Those tacos were sooo good! The burritos were good at dinner last night and at lunch today too! Ooops! accidental burritos too!

  2. Auntie Scarey permalink

    wow!! Korean tacos…I got to let Brandon and David know.

  3. holy cow!! I want try some of those!

  4. monkey's uncle permalink

    gourmet korean taco roach coach with $5 red bulls. sign of the times…

Leave a Reply

