Skip to content

Solarizing our lifestyle

by on December 12, 2008

Currently, I’m charging my cell phone off of this:

Solio Classic Solar Charger

Solio Classic Solar Charger

Works pretty well, although not as efficiently as I would like.  In doing some research, I stumbled across this:

The HyMini Solar+Wind Charger

The panel is slightly more efficient than the ones on the Solio, and if there’s no sun, you can power it off of the mini wind turbine.

Right now, HyMini’s having a buy-one-get-one sale, and I’m very tempted to return the Solio (I bought it from LL Bean, where everything is infinitely returnable) and getting the HyMini instead.  Twice the bang for less money ($99 for the Solio vs. $75 for the HyMini).

The dream: to charge my laptop off the sun.

From → Uncategorized

2 Comments
  1. Auntie Scarey permalink

    sun? what sun? oh yeah…you’re still in 80 degree weather

  2. Janelle permalink

    Nate –

    My roommate just told me to check on coolhunting.com that it has a solar powered laptop charger on there – let me know if you find anything.

    Janelle

Leave a Reply

