Skip to content
Tags

tasties…

by on February 27, 2008

So lately, I’ve been busy busy at the hospital, spending more of my hours with the benign gynecology team than my own dear family of Y-chromosomes. But as we got used to the hours, I managed to scrape together some sane moments to do some due diligence to what I consider my household duties. Some may consider these wifely duties, but as I live in the very progressive San Francisco Bay Area, I must pay some homage to the PC terms and references in our daily lives. At any rate, in an effort to make sure that my dear Mr. Nathan does not languish in my absence, I’ve stocked our kitchen with an assortment of scones. I started off with a couple of simple recipes (and some half and half procured from Sunday services…) and expanded from there. So far, I think I’ve liked the version of mega-scones filled w/ homemade fig jam, Cranberry Lemon Scones, and cheese and scallion. There are pictures that will come along at some point…(ahem, mr. nathan?) But these have sustained our early mornings with our not-so-tiny man, and boosted those desparate late afternoons when I get out of the OR.

Scones

2.5-3 cups of all purpose flour

2.5 TBSP of baking powder

1 tsp of salt

1/4 cup granulated sugar

1 stick of chilled and cubed butter

1 egg

1 tsp vanilla extract

3/4 cup milk

up to 1 cup of cranberries or chocolate

Zest of 1 large lemon or orange (or 2!)

1. Combine the dry ingredients. Cut in the butter. Throw in the cranberries and zest.

2. Mix together the egg, milk, and extract. Combine with the dry.

3. Knead just enough to get dough to come together. Feel free to add up to 1/4 cup of flour. (this can vary depending on how humid the weather is.)

4. Shape the dough into a giant circle about 1 inch thick. Cut into 8 wedges. Bake (preferably on a stone) at 400 F for about 20-25 minutes.

Other snackies to come, including granola and biscotti.

From → Uncategorized

4 Comments
  1. Thanks! The cranberry/orange zest combination sounds awfully yummy to me!

  2. Auntie Scarey permalink

    did you get the fig jam from your father in law? if so, I got some of that same stuff and am not sure what to do with it; do you want it?

  3. Auntie Scarey permalink

    ps where’s the obligatory Emmett picture tasting, stirring, kneading the dough with his feet, etc.?

  4. Mrs. Odom permalink

    I’ve begun to wonder how you tell if biscotti has gone bad? Does it get harder? We made some at Christmas that we’re still eating! Just a dunkaroo and it’s good to go!

Leave a Reply

